Introduction – Who we are

BeFunky Collage.jpgAbout Us


The Green Party is composed of grassroots activists, environmentalists, advocates for social justice, nonviolent resisters, and regular citizens who’ve had enough of corporate-dominated politics. Our goal is to be the electoral wing of the nation-wide movements against war and corporate power.


Greens provide real solutions for real problems, because our members are locally based activists just like you. Whether the issue is universal health care, corporate globalization, alternative energy, election reform, or decent, living wages for workers, Greens have the courage and independence necessary to take on the powerful corporate interests.


The Federal Elections Commission recognizes the Green Party of the United States, and we have had successful candidates running in many states from California to Colorado to Maine. We also are part of a global Green movement, with shared ecology and justice-focused values. Some of these Green Parties have received enough popular votes from their countrymen to serve at the highest levels of their respective governments. With your help, we will be able to say the same in the immediate future and beyond.

Third Parties Have Changed America

What the two corporate-dominated political parties don’t want you to remember is that, over the centuries, American third parties have been at the forefront of many progressive changes we now consider essential, including the 8-hour day, voting rights for women, and the abolition of slavery. In fact, the Republican Party was itself a third party movement 150 years ago, when Abraham Lincoln and other anti-slavery activists left the dying Whig Party.

With Your Help, We Can Win

It is time to move beyond the failed two-party system that has produced candidates who have not fixed the healthcare, living wage, and other key issues of our time. All we get is more excuses about why things cannot be changed, while corporations accountable to no government continue to control our lives.

The Green Party supports Instant Runoff Voting (IRV) , which would encourage coalition-building instead of negative attacks against opponents, and allow each of us to vote for our favorite candidate instead of the candidate we dislike least.

The “spoiler” arguments by adherents of the two-party system would be addressed by IRV, where all parties would have a fair chance at victory, and where winning candidates would have to reach out to losing candidates to build the coalitions necessary to win 51% of the vote.

Will You Join Us?

The Green Party has been growing rapidly since 2001, and includes college students, senior citizens, and all ages in-between. We need compassionate, forward-looking people like yourself to serve as candidates, donors, and volunteers. With your help, we can build a party and a nation that are focused on peace, justice, living wages, and sustainable growth.

Green Party of Ohio State Central Committee Members and Officers  2016 Executive Committee

  • Here is the list of members as of May 14, 2016, together with their addresses, of the state Central Committee of the Green Party of Ohio:

  1. Phillip Mohorich        Euclid OH        44119    
  2. Connie Gadell-Newton    Columbus OH    43205
  3. Tekla Taylor-Lagway     Columbus OH    43229    
  4. Gwen E Marshall        Cincinnati OH    45223
  5. Donald L Rucknagel      Cincinnati OH       45202
  6. Dorsey R Stebbins       Cincinnati OH    45240    
  7. Alexandra Kendzrieski        Toledo OH        43620
  8. Monika Perry           Toledo OH        43614        
  9. Timothy Michael Bruce      Dayton OH    45406
  10. Logan P Martinez             Centerville OH    45459    
  11. Jim Villani                    Boardman OH    44512
  12. Bob Fitrakis              Columbus OH    43205
  13. Suzanne Patzer               Columbus OH    43205
  14. Stephen Caruso               Pataskala OH    43062
  15. Anita Rios Toledo OH 43610
  16. Joseph DeMare Bowling Green OH 43402
  17. Colleen Eldridge Toledo, OH
  18. Dennis Lambert     Pedro, OH
  19. Deniss Spisak  Struthers, OH 44471
  20. Mark A Lause        Cincinnati, OH 45207

    The first 11 were elected in the primary  of March 15, 2016 and the remaining 3 were appointed at the first meeting of the Central Committee after that primary,  on May 14, 2016.

    At that meeting officers were elected: Co-chairs Connie Gadell-Newton and Bob Fitrakis, Treasurer Phillip Mohorich, and Secretary Tekla Taylor-Lagway.

    At the June meeting we will take up the question of appointment of Joe DeMare and Dennis Lambert.

Four candidates are elected from each State of Ohio School Board district, at least one of these persons elected must be a female and at least one must be a male.

Lucas County Central Committee Gre 3/15/2016

  • Total Number of Precincts 332
  • Precincts Reporting 332 100.0 %
  • Times Counted 217/289978 0.1 %
  • Total Votes 459
  • D Jambard-Sweet         78     16.99%
  • Alexandra Kendziersk     108     23.53%
  • Tanasio Loudermill         70     15.25%
  • Sean Nestor             102     22.22%
  • Anita Rios             101     22.00%

Green Party Hamilton County Central Committee Members

(there are open seats available for appointment by the Hamilton County Central Committee Membership.)

  • Josh Krekeler, Cincinnati, Ohio 
  • Gwen Marshall,  Cincinnati, Ohio  45223 
  • Don Rucknagel,   Cincinnati, Ohio 45202-3530
  • Dorsey Stebbins,   Cincinnati, Ohio, 45240
  • Kim Wise,  Cincinnati, OH 45220
  • Kurt Kishler, Cincinnati OH 45244  

Wood County primary election March 15, 2016 results

GREEN County Central Committee    GRE    


Number of Precincts        98    

Precincts Reporting        98    100.0%

Vote For        15    

Total Votes        205    


  • Joseph R. DeMare        56    27.32%
  • Julian de Leon Guerr    46    22.44%  [actually Guerrero]
  • Carolyn S. Kawecka        60    29.27%
  • Rosamond McCallister    43    20.98%

Cuyahoga County Green Party Committee Election Results (March 15, 2016)








Daryl Davis



David H. Ellison



Phillip Mohorich






Gre 3rd Dist, State Central Committee GRE

Total Number of Precincts 360

Precincts Reporting 360     100.0 %

  • Timothy M. Bruce     85     56.29%
  • Logan P. Martinez     66     43.71%

Election Summary Report Frankline COUNTY PRIMARY ELECTION MARCH 15, 2016

  • Becca Calhoun,  Columbus 43209
  • Philena I. Farley Columbus 43203
  • Bob Fitrakis Columbus 43205
  • Connie Hammond Columbus 43214
  • Suzanne M. Patzer Columbus 43205
  • Tekla Taylor-Lagway Columbus 43229
  • Michael Vinson Columbus 43227